What is Wrong with Twitter??? Top 5 Issues

Don’t get me wrong – I do love Twitter. But as with any other objects we love, they have their faults. Here are the top 5 biggest everyday problems of Twitter I see and I would love to see disappear!!!

#1: Perfectly imperfect Twitter search

It compares to the feeling of winning a lottery when you actually do find what you are looking for via Twitter search box. I do get majorly put off by “Stop running script?” and finding only half of the relevant results, if that. Thanks goodness for Twitter directories!

#2: I follow them, but do they follow me???

Don’t we have the right to know who is our real friend, Twitter?? Twitter doesn’t mind letting you know if you follow someone or not, but dare you if you want to know if the person follows you! There is a green check mark with “following” attached that indicates you are following someone – that simple. But you would have to dig real deep to learn if the person follows you. I really don’t have time or desire to go through all the followers to find that out.

#3: That infamous retweet button

People all over Twitter and blogosphere are complaining about Twitter’s retweet system – rightfully so. There is no way one can add a comment to the retweet on Twitter, plus it doesn’t show up in user’s personal stream, so many times people don’t even know when someone retweets their post. Consequence? Most people run away to Hootsuite and such where retweet is a pleasure, not a pain!

#4: Chit chat or not

I try to limit chit chats on Twitter, not because I would want to but because I know that having chit chats annoys a lot of people. Nobody wants bunch of how are yous, what is the weather kind of talk in their stream, but nobody want to tweet just news and links either. That is why a chat feature would have been nice!

#5 Twitter rules are a mess

I get it – every playground needs to have REASONABLE rules (reasonable being the keyword here). I especially ‘love’ the rule that having a small number of followers compared to the amount of people you are following is considered a spam (http://bit.ly/TMZH). So if you are one of the lucky ones who doesn’t get overlooked by @aplusk or @mashable, tell them to stop spamming okay?

I would also like to experience a day when “Over Capacity” warning doesn’t pop up on my screen, but I know it would be too much to ask for. For now, I would be perfectly happy if these 5 imperfections above would be fixed. Thanks!!!

Got anything to add? Please speak or hold your peace forever 😉

Yours always,

Lucie

www.linkedin.com/in/luciehys

www.twitter.com/onlinefantastic

www.facebook.com/travelfantastic

About Lucie
I am curious and passionate about all things social and pretty much anything else I put my mind into.

8 Responses to What is Wrong with Twitter??? Top 5 Issues

  1. kcb704 says:

    Great post Lucie! I especially agree with #4 and both you and I know why 😉

  2. Aaron says:

    Great blog post Lucie,
    I have to agree most of them however I don’t have any problems with the searches.
    I too try to the chit chats that i have on twitter but i try my best to reply everyone.
    If I don’t then most probably “i’ve missed it” LoL!

    Great post!

    Cheers
    Aaron

    • Thank you so much Aaron for finding the time to read my blog post and leaving a comment – that is very sweet of you and I truly appreciate it. While I am at thanking, thank you for retweeting it too and for not missing it LOL You are wonderful and you definitely are a Twitter role model to all of us “little people” ;=) Lots of ((hugs)) your way and HAPPY BIRTHDAY once again! ;=)

  3. ileaneb says:

    Hi Lucie,
    I’m a confessed Twitter addict, but one thing I never do is a Twitter search. I guess I feel like I’m following enough people that I already know who is tweeting about what and if not – who cares. LOL!

    If you want more of the chit-chat thingy you should give Google Buzz a try. Conversations are a breeze.

    Thanks!

  4. Great post Lucie! You are so thorough and so spot-on! I agree with this short list, and I have a suggestion to add, that is inspired by a comment from @UrKidNRite on a guest blog post of mine:
    I think you should be able to “knock” on someone’s DM door if they are not following you. I think Twitter should implement a notice that someone has sent a DM to you and you can click to receive it or not. This way, we could discreetly let our friends know they have not followed us, or have unfollowed etc (often a glitch) without bringing it up in the main stream. Also, you may be chatting with someone in the main stream and wish to bring the conversation to DM, out of the main timeline and one or the other may not be following. It’s a nice, discreet way of bringing up the follow subject.
    You can always disregard the notice if you don’t know who’s “knocking” or you don’t wish to follow them for whatever reasons.
    Thanks for this Forum to vent! lol Maybe Twitter will hear our collective voice 🙂
    Cheers and love, Gina

    • Hi sweets,
      Thank you so much for your comment! You are so right and @Urkidnrite has a great point – I did think about it before and it should be added here – so thank you for bringing this up! Too bad we didn’t catch each other in SF but hopefully soon you’ll bless Florida with your presence! 😉 Love, Lucie

  5. bet365 says:

    how are you I was luck to look for your Topics in wordpress
    your post is brilliant
    I obtain much in your theme really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you website is really marvelous
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

